7th Young Musicians competition

The seventh annual Seaford Young Musician of the Year competition organised by Seaford Rotary Club was held on Saturday 3rd March 2016 at Seaford Baptist Church, Belgrave Road, Seaford.
The competition aims to give youngsters aged between 11 and 17 the chance to showcase their musical talent in front of an audience. The competition has categories for solo instrumentalists, solo singers and ensembles, and the programme included songs from musicals and films, classical pieces as well as well-known contemporary tunes.
From the first performance by Max Nowak playing a harpsichord to Richart Van Zyl on his violin, the judges and the audience of competitors, their families and friends and Rotarians were well entertained.
Competition entrants included instrumentalists and vocalists, but only one ensemble, the Seaford Baroque Ensemble consisting of 4 violinists and one cellist. Before the competition started, Head Judge Pat White told the assembled audience and the ensemble players that even though there was only one entry for this classification, there was no guarantee that the ensemble prize would be awarded. The ensemble would have to show that the awarding of a prize was justified.
After the competition, whilst the judges deliberated, the tradition that the audience is entertained by past Young Musicians of the Year was maintained as Hambel Goodchild, the winner in 2013 showed her virtuosity on the flute by playing Arpeggione 1st movement by Schubert.
After their deliberations, Pat White announced that judges had found that the standard of performance both overall and individually had risen from previous years, and that all the competitors were to be congratulated on the standard of their performance.
Rotary Club of Seaford Vice President Steven Willox presented all the competitors with a commemorative certificate.
Before presenting the prizes, the Mayor Councillor Linda Wallraven said ‘What a wonderful evening. Well done to all the performers; I know that the judges had a very hard job. Thank you all, and thanks to the Rotary Club for putting on this evening of musicianship’.
The five string instrumentalists (Robbie Hughes, Katie Trollope, Richart Van Zyl, Juliette Zeilmaker and Francesca Hughes) demonstrated, with their interpretation of L’Estro Armonico (Opus 3 No. 6) by Vivaldi, that the judges were justified in awarding the prize for Ensembles to the Seaford Baroque Ensemble.
The runner up in the instrumentalist classification was Max Nowak who played Prelude in C by J. S. Bach on the harpsichord. The winner of the prize for instrumentalists was Richart Van Zyl who wowed the audience with his violin rendition of Präludium and Allegro by Kreisler.
Her performance For Forever by Justin Paul and Benj Pasek from the Broadway musical Dear Evan Hansen won the top award in the Solo Vocalists classification for Elizabeth Lawton.
The final award was the presentation of the Colin Seymour Memorial Shield for the overall winner of the competition.
Rotarian Isla Sitwell explained the background to the shield and that there is a responsibility that goes with the award of the shield in that the winner will represent Seaford in the Rotary District Final next year.
Rose Meek who won the competition in 2017, took part in the 2018 Rotary District competition which was held on 24th February and won, so there is no pressure! Rose will now go forward to the Regional Final and if she wins or comes second in that competition she will qualify for the National Ffinals. Although winners of the Seaford competition had previously finished second in the District event, this was the first time a competitor from Seaford had been successful in a District Final.
After a short pause, Isla Sitwell asked ‘so who is going to win the Colin Seymour Shield? It’s going to go to ……. Richart Van Zyl’. Vice President Steven Willox then presented him with the shield.
Isla continued that ‘Seaford Rotary could not do the competition without our three Judges, Pat White, Sue Richardson and Andrew Daniels. It is very difficult to adjudicate and this year it has been more difficult than normal as the standard has been very high’. Jim Anderson presented the judges with tokens of appreciation.
Tokens of appreciation were also given to Hambel Goodchild for entertaining the audience whilst the judges were conferring, and the Master of Ceremonies and compere Damon Willer who ‘just keeps talking spontaneously but who we know we can leave everything in his hands’.
To close the evening, Rotarian Isla Sitwell congratulated all the competitors on their performances for making it such a memorable evening, and their families for enduring their practice to allow them to reach the standard of performance displayed this evening. Thanks were also given to Maeve Jenkinson for providing the accompaniment to the string instrumentalists and ensemble, to Phil of Sussex Events Ltd. the Sound Engineers, to the Inner Wheel Club of Seaford for providing the interval refreshments, and to fellow Rotarians for setting out the chairs and banners for the event.
Lastly but not least, Isla Sitwell thanked Seaford Baptist Church for providing such a wonderful venue and the help provided by their 'Facilities Coordinator' Richard Faulkner to make this evening a success.
Rotary Club of Seaford Vice President Steven Willox took the microphone from Isla Sitwell and on behalf of everyone, thanked him for organising the whole event.

posted: Saturday, 3 March 2018

More pictures

Back to News summary


  • Wed 19 Jun 2019
  • No meeting
  • Sat 22 Jun 2019
  • Presidents Evening and Handover
  • Wed 26 Jun 2019
  • Anita Smith: Bansang Hospital
  • Wed 03 Jul 2019
  • Ben Kent + students from SHS: Duke of Edinburgh award

View all events